“We support your company during a crisis, so that you can emerge from it with strength for a better future.”

Compliance Monitorships

Compliance Monitorships – Expertise from experience

Compliance Monitoring requires experience, expertise and the ability to gain the trust of both the company concerned and the regulatory authorities. As an independent Compliance Monitor or its advisor, or at the side or in in-house functions of affected companies, we are familiar with all aspects of Compliance Monitorships.

The compliance requirements placed on companies by law enforcement and regulatory agencies worldwide are constantly increasing. As a result, the role of the independent Compliance Monitor is becoming increasingly important. In the case of compliance violations, more and more companies are obliged to accept an independent Compliance Monitor in addition to the fines imposed.

The main task of a Compliance Monitor consists of monitoring and promoting the company’s efforts to eliminate misconduct and, in particular, to establish an effective ethics and compliance program. The aim is to prevent future infringements with the aid of an effective Compliance Management System.

Pohlmann & Company has already worked several times as a Compliance Monitor or its advisor and has many years of international experience in the field of preventive compliance advisory. With this particular expertise, we are the ideal partner as an independent link between the authorities, such as the Department of Justice (DoJ), the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) or the World Bank, and the company concerned.

With experienced consultants, we are also a reliable partner for companies that want to prepare for monitoring with foresight – from selecting a suitable monitor to establishing the necessary communication and process management to proactively improving the compliance management system.

Under certain circumstances it may also be of interest for companies to initiate “voluntary monitoring” in order to check the maturity and effectiveness of their compliance program and internal control system. We know the relevant minimum requirements and best practice standards, also in an international environment. This is why clients rely on us when it comes to optimizing their processes or having the degree of their compliance remediation independently tested.

Overview

Compliance Monitor
  • Activity as independent Compliance Monitor, e.g. for the U.S. Department of Justice, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission or the World Bank
Counsel/Support to the Monitor
  • Support of compliance monitors as consultants or as expert/team member in the sense of a “Counsel/Support to the Monitor”
Counsel to the Company
  • Strategic advisory and practical support in preparation for and during compliance monitoring, including the establishment/improvement of compliance programs and internal control systems (“Counsel to the Company”)
Voluntary compliance monitoring
  • “Voluntary compliance monitoring” for the purpose of independent certification of an effective compliance program and/or internal control system in accordance with relevant minimum requirements and international best practice standards

„Wir begleiten Ihr Unternehmen in der Krise, damit Sie daraus gestärkt in die Zukunft gehen.”

Compliance Monitorships

Compliance Monitorships – Kompetenz aus Erfahrung

Compliance Monitoring erfordert Erfahrung, Fachwissen und die Fähigkeit, das Vertrauen sowohl der betroffenen Unternehmen als auch der Aufsichtsbehörden zu gewinnen. Als unabhängiger Compliance Monitor oder deren Berater sowie an der Seite oder in Inhouse-Funktionen von betroffenen Unternehmen kennen wir die gesamte Bandbreite von Compliance Monitorships.

Die seitens der Strafverfolgungs- und Aufsichtsbehörden weltweit an Unternehmen gestellten Compliance-Anforderungen steigen ständig. Damit gewinnt die Rolle des unabhängigen Compliance Monitors zunehmend an Bedeutung. Immer mehr Unternehmen werden bei Compliance-Verstößen verpflichtet, neben den auferlegten Bußgeldern auch einen unabhängigen Compliance Monitor zu akzeptieren.

Hauptaufgabe eines Compliance Monitors ist es, das Unternehmen bei der Behebung des Fehlverhaltens und insbesondere der Etablierung eines effektiven Ethik- und Compliance-Programms zu überwachen und weiter voranzubringen. Das Ziel ist, zukünftige Verstöße mit Hilfe eines wirksamen Compliance-Management-Systems zu verhindern.

Pohlmann & Company war bereits mehrfach als Compliance Monitor oder dessen Berater tätig und verfügt über langjährige internationale Praxis im Bereich der präventiven Compliance-Beratung. Mit dieser besonderen Expertise sind wir die ideale Besetzung als unabhängiges Bindeglied zwischen Behörde, wie z.B. Department of Justice (DoJ), U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) oder Weltbank, und dem betroffenen Unternehmen.

Mit erfahrenen Beratern sind wir auch ein verlässlicher Partner für Unternehmen, die sich vorausschauend auf ein Monitorship vorbereiten wollen – von der Auswahl eines passenden Monitors über die Etablierung des erforderlichen Kommunikations- und Prozessmanagements bis hin zur proaktiven Verbesserung des Compliance-Management-Systems.

Unter Umständen kann es für Unternehmen auch von Interesse sein, ein „freiwilliges Monitorship“ zu initiieren, um den Reifegrad und die Effektivität des Compliance-Programms und internen Kontroll-Systems zu überprüfen. Wir kennen die relevanten Mindestanforderungen und Best-Practice-Standards, auch im internationalen Umfeld. Deshalb verlassen sich Mandanten auf uns, wenn es darum geht, ihre Prozesse zu optimieren oder den Grad ihrer Aufarbeitung von Compliance-Verstößen (Remediation) von unabhängiger Seite testen zu lassen.

Im Überblick

Compliance Monitor
  • Tätigkeit als unabhängiger Compliance Monitor, z.B. für das U.S. Justizministerium (Department of Justice), die U.S. Börsenaufsicht (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) oder die Weltbank
Counsel/Support to the Monitor
  • Unterstützung von Compliance Monitoren als Berater oder als Experte / Teammitglied im Sinne eines „Counsel/Support to the Monitor“)
Counsel to the Company
  • Strategische Beratung und praktische Unterstützung in Vorbereitung auf und während eines Compliance Monitorships, inklusive der Etablierung/Verbesserung von Compliance-Programmen und internen Kontrollsystemen („Counsel to the Company“)
Freiwilliges Compliance Monitorship
  • „Freiwilliges Compliance Monitorship“ zwecks unabhängiger Zertifizierung eines effektiven Compliance-Programms und/oder internen Kontrollsystems nach relevanten Mindestanforderungen und internationalen Best-Practice-Standards